Wednesday, 15 November 2017

#BlogTour Lay Me to Rest by E.A. Clark (@EAClarkAuthor) @rararesources @Marablaise

Lay Me to Rest by E.A. Clark
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Some secrets never stay buried for long…

Devastated by the death of her husband, Annie Philips is shocked to discover she is pregnant with his unborn child. Hoping for a fresh start, she travels to a remote stone cottage in Anglesey, amidst the white-capped mountains of North Wales.

She settles in quickly, helped by her mysterious new neighbour, Peter. But everything changes when Annie discovers a small wooden box, inlaid with brass and mother-of-pearl. A box she was never supposed to find…

Annie soon realises that she isn’t alone in the cottage. And now she’s trapped. Can she escape the nightmare that she has awoken, or will the dark forces surrounding the house claim her life – and that of her baby?

A gripping thriller from E. A. Clark, perfect for fans of Kerri Wilkinson, Sarah Wray and Stella Duffy. You won’t be able to put it down!


Purchase from Amazon UK: amzn.to/2k7xLmq

BOOK REVIEW

Ghost stories are something that I truly enjoy reading. The description of Lay Me to Rest instantly appealed to me. The book did turn out to be a bit different than I expected, less sinister and more tragic. I think I just imagined more evil things when I read about Annie finding a small wooden box that isn't supposed to be found. I guess my mind went directly to more sinister things when I read the blurb. However, there are still ghosts in the book. Plenty of them and Annie seems to be a catalyst that will not only bring them forth, but also be the one that could put them to rest.

Lay Me to Rest is the first book in the series about Annie Philips (at least I hope is a series since the book ended with a cliffhanger). She's recently widowed and has found herself not only bereft of her husband, but pregnant with his child. Through the book will we learn more about what happened to him and that their marriage was not at the strongest point when he died. Personally, do I think that this is one of the strongest points of the book, showing how Annie was before her husband died. She's not only grieving for her husband, she is also feeling guilty. And, now she has gone away for a while to find herself, but instead, she finds herself in a haunted house.

The story is interesting, although I did find it a bit predictable now and then. However, I was a bit surprised over some of the things that happened. But, it just shows that you don't really know what's hiding behind a person's facade. What thrilled me was the ending that it was not over for Annie, that this seeing ghost thing seems to be the start. It's why I hope there will be more books.    


ABOUT THE AUTHOR

E. A. Clark lives in the Midlands with her husband and son, plus a rather temperamental cat, a rabbit and a chinchilla. She has three (now grown-up) children and five grandchildren. She is particularly partial to Italian food, decent red wine (or any coloured wine come to that …) and cake – and has been known to over-indulge in each on occasions.

She has a penchant for visiting old graveyards and speculating on the demise of those entombed beneath. Whilst she has written short stories and poetry for many years, a lifelong fascination with all things paranormal has culminated in her first novel for adults, Lay Me to Rest. The setting is inspired by her love of Wales, owing to her father’s Celtic roots.

Follow E.A. Clark on…

Twitter - https://twitter.com/EAClarkAuthor
Facebook - https://www.facebook.com/elizabeth.clark.779857


No comments:

Post a comment