Thursday, 27 July 2017

#CoverCrush Before I Let You Go Kelly Rimmer

For new visitors do I want to explain that Cover Crush is something that my friend Erin over at Flashlight Commentary came up with and I adopted the idea together with some other friends. And, now we try to put up a Cover Crush every week. You can check below my pick of the week for their choices this week!

In her print debut, USA TODAY and international bestselling author Kelly Rimmer delivers a powerful and poignant read about how much a woman will sacrifice to protect her self-destructive sister from addiction when there’s a baby involved. Fans of Jodi Picoult and Lisa Genova’s issue-driven women's fiction will love BEFORE I LET YOU GO’s ripped-from-the-headlines themes, which force the characters to make difficult moral decisions which are often in conflict with the "right thing to do," and the ripple effect these decisions have on real life.

Despite having endured a disturbing childhood together, as adults sisters Lexie and Annie are worlds apart. Lexie is a doctor, successful and happily engaged to Sam. Annie is addicted to heroin—a thief, a liar, and unable to remain clean despite the fact that she is pregnant. After being estranged for two years, Annie returns to Lexie’s life desperate for help. She is critically ill, but afraid to seek medical treatment, knowing that under Alabama law illegal drug use during pregnancy is a felony.

To prevent the baby from being placed in foster care, Lexie agrees to assume responsibility for her niece. While Annie struggles in court-ordered rehab, Lexie finds her carefully ordered life coming undone, as she desperately tries to support and re-connect with her sister while not enabling Annie’s destructive habits. Both sisters are forced to confront the echoes of pain that linger from their difficult childhood, and forge a new—stronger—bond, while ensuring the demons from their past have no place in the future.

Some thoughts about the cover:

I quite like the simplicity of this cover with only the flowers. But, it's the colors that really makes me love this cover. The purple and white flowers around the title and the dirty white background. 

Check out what my friends have picked for Cover Crush's this week:

Stephanie @ Layered Pages


No comments:

Post a Comment